Glutened by Makeup?

I love my makeup. I just wish manufacturers would stop using allergens in it!

For a couple of (horrifying) weeks, I went barefaced. No makeup, whatsoever. This was because I was feeling really ill for some reason. Normally, if I get glutened, I recover in about 3-4 days. In May, it seemed like I kept getting glutened somehow. I was sick almost everyday for more than a month. I noticed that everytime I did my eye makeup and wore my red lipstick, I would feel ill.

I stopped wearing my red lipstick. But I was still feeling sick. I have no idea why. In fact, I still don’t know. I have about 4 lipsticks which I use frequently. All of which have tocopheryl acetate listed as an ingredient. This ingredient can be derived from wheat sources. I have written to the companies (Flormar and L’Oreal Paris) to ask about this but there has been no response. So I just gave up on wearing lipstick for a while.

Last week, I did my makeup as usual but skipped the lipstick. A few hours later, I started feeling a bit weird. My stomach started feeling very stuffy, if that even makes sense. I was so confused. What could possibly be glutening me now? I wasn’t wearing any lipstick at all!

With horror, I realized it could be my eyeliner. According to what I’ve read on some gluten free websites, eyeliner can get on the waterline and gluten can get into your body that way. I swapped my daily Lakme eyeliner for my special-occasion Chanel one. I also avoided using a rouge that I have always associated with zit breakouts. I felt somewhat better that day. But still not quite there.

Wearing my favourite red lipstick - Flormar Pretty Cream & Glaze Lipstick P324

Wearing my favourite red lipstick – Flormar Pretty Cream & Glaze Lipstick P324

Yesterday, I reached into a different eyeshadow palette, and along with the eyeliner, I swapped my daily Flormar mascara for my Armani one. Used only my bronzer and shimmer. I was going out for dinner so I had to be a little dressed up – I could absolutely NOT skip wearing lipstick. I wore the same red lipstick I had abandoned a couple months ago. Funnily enough, no symptoms this time! I cannot help but think that there is some gluten lurking in some of my makeup items. I just don’t know which ones they are! I am absolutely thrilled that my red lipstick is not causing symptoms this time. I LOVE that lipstick. It’s the perfect shade for me! I will use it sparingly though, because I’m not sure if it’s gluten free since the manufacturers won’t respond to my queries. I’ve ordered some lipsticks that are guaranteed to be safe and not only gluten free but also allergy friendly from Red Apple Lipstick. At least this way, I’ll have one makeup item that I won’t have to worry about!

Now along with food, I have to do a trial-and-error of my makeup items. Boohoo. A lot of people say we don’t need to worry about makeup being gluten free but ask the hundreds of us who get glutened by makeup and feel sick later. I don’t react as severely to gluten in my makeup as I do to food, but there are still some symptoms present. More than that, I’m worried about how it might be damaging my body internally. I’d just rather not take the risk. I’m going crazy looking for some gluten free eyeliner and mascara now. I’ve contacted Boots with a list of products that I want to know about. Still waiting for their reply! What’s worse is that some companies claim to be gluten free, but some of their products list wheat as an ingredient! What the heck, guys?! Grr! If you have any recommendations for gluten free makeup, do let me know! I’m losing my mind looking for some! 

4 thoughts on “Glutened by Makeup?

  1. Pingback: Review: Just got my Red Apple Lipstick orders! | Begone, Gluten!

Leave a Reply

