Lighten Your Hair With Honey!

A couple of days ago, I stumbled across some posts on the internet about using honey to lighten hair colour. I have never really cared much for changing my hair colour. I don’t like unnecessary chemicals and dyes. But this seemed really intriguing so I decided to give it a shot!

My hair is dark and medium brown, straight, fine and I really wish it had more volume and that there was more of it. I wasn’t able to take a ‘before’ photo but I will put up some old photos where my hair can be seen.

There are so many different recipes out there for this so you can google it to find one that suits your needs. Here’s the recipe I used:

  1. 2 tbsp 100% honey
  2. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  3. 1 tbsp water (more or less, depending on how thick the honey is)
  4. 1/2 tsp cinnamon powder

I chose to mix the first three ingredients together and let it sit for about 15 minutes. Then I applied it to my hair one small section at a time. Cinnamon powder gives the hair a reddish tint, which I didn’t really want so I added it in right at the end and used it on the ends of my hair. It also tingles a bit, which I, again, did not want to feel so I only added a little. I then tied my hair in a bun and put on a shower cap. I washed my hair after 5 hours. Most people do this overnight but I didn’t want it on my hair that long. Most websites say that it should be on for at least an hour. After washing, do not apply heat. Do not use a hair dryer or straightener. Let your hair air dry.

hair 2

My hair felt conditioned and really soft. Several strands have turned a shade lighter and it looks like I have highlights! It’s very subtle and will require a few more sessions to become more noticeable but it is still pretty cool! My hair has always looked light-medium brown in the sunlight but in normal light, it looks medium-dark brown. If you look at the photo, you’ll see that my hair has some medium brown/mahogany streaks. The non-mahogany coloured hair is my actual hair colour. Pretty cool, huh?

 

Leave a Reply

