Liver Cleanse with Apple Juice and Olive Oil – DAY 1

My doctor has recommended a liver/gallbladder cleanse since my gallbladder is being lazy. I mentioned to her that while I got better in between, I feel like I have regressed and am now constantly bloated, and feel excessive air in my stomach moving around. I also tend to have this burning sensation in my upper stomach from time to time.

The doctor said the bile has thickened and has formed a sludge and is on its way to forming gallbladder stones. Eeks. Enter Liver Detox:

  • Juice 7 apples and drink it throughout the day. Must be at room temperature.
  • This needs to be done for 4 days.
  • On the 5th day, I need to skip dinner. At 6 PM, I need to have a cup of apple juice with a tbsp of Epsom salt. One more time at 8 PM.
  • At 10 PM, I need to have half a cup of olive oil with half a cup of grapefruit juice. 

The first four days are alright. It’s the 5th day that terrifies me. Half a cup of olive oil?! WHAT? WHY?

The apple juice is meant to make the bile softer and thin it out, I suppose. And the olive oil is to sort of lubricate everything. I’m not looking forward to DAY 5. Nevertheless here’s how DAY 1 went:

  • 3 PM: Juiced 7 apples (both red and green). Wow, that’s a lot of juice. Drank half a glass. Yummo.
  • 6 PM: Why is this juice turning black? Why is there all this weird foam in it? 
  • 7 PM: There’s STILL two cups left?!
  • 9 PM: My stomach looks so huge. I feel like my organs are drowning in apple juice.

I ate normal meals. In fact, I felt hungrier, which is something that has been missing for quite some time. I have been struggling with trying to gain weight (I am terribly underweight) and increasing my appetite has been difficult, especially since I’m intolerant to several foods. I ate four meals today and I still had room for more! I just feel like munching on things all day long. This is a good sign.

 

2 thoughts on “Liver Cleanse with Apple Juice and Olive Oil – DAY 1

  1. Hi,
    I stumbled upon your blog when I was searching for Amaranth grain suppliers in Dubai and I got my answer, delightfully. The blog is quite informative and your writing skills are commendable. I presume that you are gluten intolerant; I had no idea that life could be so difficult for someone with gluten intolerance. I just have a doubt about the scientific validity of the liver cleanse. To me it seems like your diet is loaded with sugars ( fructose ) and I am pretty sure that you will find a lot of data that would suggest that you aren’t “cleansing” your liver albeit you might be subjecting your friendly liver to a lot of stress. I might be wrong and I am willing to be corrected. Hope you feel better soon.

    • Hello Ajeeth! Thanks for your comment 🙂

      I agree. Fructose does not do well with me and I try my best to maintain a low fructose diet. I avoid fruit juices and high fructose foods. If I have more than half a glass of juice for two days straight, I end up regretting it each time due to symptoms that come about.

      Initially, I thought all this apple juice was going to bring all those symptoms back. Fructose overload! Surprisingly, it wasn’t that bad. My usual symptoms came about but it was pretty mild and manageable. Maybe something to do with the fact that it was fresh juice, rather than store-bought?

      The science behind this detox is that the chemical composition of apple juice softens gallbladder sludge. Then drinking half a cup of olive oil with grapefruit juice is meant to make the gallbladder contract and push the sludge out. I’m not sure if this is actually what happens. I do feel slightly better after the detox but I’ll only know for sure when a couple of days pass, to see if the problems resurface. But I do think a better option would be to tweak my diet some more rather than resort to such detoxes!

Leave a Reply

